Masayuki Koga


(Kinko Ryu Notation)

This book was originally prepared for the Japanese Music Institute Shakuhachi Performing Group. It includes the honkyoku piece Sanya as well as original compositions by Masayuki Koga.

Part 1 explores sound in the heart of Japanese Music History from 6th C. to 21st C. Koga presents sound protraits inspired by individuals and cultural movements associated with these historical periods.
Pieces include:
1. Asuke Period (593-680)
2. Phoenix from Tempyo Period (710-794)
3. Heian Period (794-1192)
4. Sanya - Kamakura Period (1192-1350)
5. Saito Dozan (1494-1556)
6. Oda Nobunaga (1534-1582)
7. Daimyo Procession - Edo Period (1603-1867)
8. Sakamoto Ryoma (1835-1867)
9.Taki Rentaro (1879-1903)
10. Miyazawa Kenji (1896-1933)

Part 2 entitled "Tesla's Coil In Music" includes compositions inspired and dedicated to the renowned physicist Nikola Tesla.
Pieces include:
1. Primary Coil
2. Secondary Coil
3. AC Power
4. Spark Gap
5. Coil Size
6. Switch
7. Cable
8. Primary Voltage
9. Secondary Voltage
10. Plazma
11. Capacitor
12. Sea on Mars
13. Wind Boy

48 pages. KS-5

 Learn more about Masayuki Koga
Japanese Music Institute of America

Shakuhachi Playing Guides
Shakuhachi: Japanese Bamboo Flute
Extract of Master Techniques for Shakuhachi
Shakuhachi: In the Multi Dimension

Sheet Music
Sankyoku Series Music Sheets
JMI Shakuhachi Performing Group (Vol. 1)

JMI Shakuhachi Performing Group (Vol. 2)

Recorded Music

Price of Book Ordering Information

Arrow Masayuki Koga & the Japanese Music Institute Web Site
Arrow Sheet Music Menu
Arrow Tai Hei Shakuhachi Homepage
Arrow Main Menu