Hozan Yamamoto



Folk Music Scores & Modern Compositions

Folk Music Scores

30 of the most popular folk music pieces written in 5-line staff notation arranged by Living National Treasure Hozan Yamamoto.

Titles include:

1. Akita Umagata Bushi
2. Akita Obako
3. Aidu Otsue
4. Aizu Bandai San
5. Itsuki no Komori Uta
6. Oedo Nihon Bashi
7. Otemoyan
8. Owase Bushi
9. Kaigara Bushi
10. Kariboshikiri Uta
11. Kiso Bushi
12. Kuroda Bushi
13. Kokiriko Bushi
14. Komoro Mago Uta
15. Sangai Bushi
16. Sado Okesa
17. Sansa Shigure
18. Souma Bon Uta
19. Soran Bushi

20. Tairyo Utaikomi
21. Chakkiri Bushi
22. Tsugaru Yama Uta
23. Nanbu Ushioi Uta
24. Hanagasa Odori
25. Hakata Bushi
26. Hietsuki Bushi
27. Hokkai Bon Uta
28. Mogamigawa Funa Uta
29. Yagi Bushi
30. Yamanaka Bushi

Published in Japan. 64 pages. HS-1

Price of Scores Ordering Information

Original Compositions

Titles include:

1. BAMBOO DUET (1962). Part 1: Deep in the moso bamboo forest. Part 2: Young bamboo in the Japanese garden after rain. Part 3: Hoteichiku. Comical feeling of Buddha's Belly bamboo.

2. BAMBOO DUET-No. 2 (1963). Part 1: Calm and silence. Part 2: Sound and movement in the bamboo grove. Part 3: Staccato.

3. BAMBOO QUARTET (1962) explores harmony with four shakuhachi. Written for 1.6', 1.8', 2.1' and 2.3' length instruments.

4. BAMBOO TRIO (1965). Subtitled Oogi or "fan". Inspired by Gagaku, the ancient Imperial court music of Japan and scenes of the Japanese landscape.

5. MINUET FOR SHAKUHACHI (1956) is inspired by Strauss and the time in his life when Yamamoto Hozan played the Western silver flute.

6. MEIKA (1970) is the divine protection which culminates in the transition through death. Part 1: Delusion. Part 2: Inner Turmoil. Part 3: Joy.

7. SHO CHI (1967) means the home ground where all life originates. This piece explores the dynamic mystic nature of the life force.

Published in Japan. 63 pages. HS-2

Price of Scores Ordering Information

Yamamoto Book Cover

Five-Line Notation

This Japanese language playing guide is written primarily in the five-line form, making the music of the shakuhachi accessible to anyone who is able to read western staff notation. The text is written in Japanese while the musicis in western form.

Hozan Yamamoto covers all aspects of shakuhachi: its history, mechanics, tuning and repair. He explains in detail how to hold and blow this instrument and provides the beginner with information on how to choose a quality shakuhachi.

Chapters on playing explains how to read western staff and Japanese cursive notation with detailed information on rhythm, syncopation, tempo, staccato as well as techniques particular to shakuhachi playing. All aspects of honkyoku and sankyoku music are explored in this encyclopedic work.

Nine pieces of folk (Minyo) and classical music are provided along with eight advanced pieces including honkyoku and Yamamoto's own compositions. Scores include the following titles:
1. Dan Kyu (Practice Piece)
2. Sakura - Key of C (Cherry Blossoms)
3. Kojo no Tsuki (Moonlight Over the Castle Ruins)
4. Hotaru no Hikari (Ald Lang Syne)
5. Kuroda Bushi (Minyo - Samurai From Kuroda)
6. Sakura - Key of G Minor (Cherry Blossoms)
7. Hietsuki Bushi (Minyo - Song for Pounding Millet)
8. Kiso Bushi (Minyo - Song From Kiso)
9. Ina Bushi (Minyo - Song From Ina)
10. Aizu Bandaisan (Minyo - Bandai Mountain in Aizu)
11. Komuro Magouta (Minyo - Horse Herding Song From Komuro))
12. Okosa Bushi (Minyo - Song From Akita)
13. Gavotte (French Dance Melody)
14. Rokudan no Shirabe (Classical)
15. Chidori no Kyoku (Classical)
16. Kohan no Yoru (Original Composition)
17. Kan Otsu (Original Composition)
18. Shakuhachi Duet (Original Composition)
19. Short Piece for Three Shakuhachi (Original Composition)
20. Long Piece for Three Shakuhachi (Original Composition)

A supplementary fingering chart is included. 135 pages. PG-10

Price of Book Ordering Information

Living National Treasure Hozan Yamamoto is one of the mostly highly regarded players and composers of modern shakuhachi music alive today. He was one of the first classical player in Japan to synthesize traditional and western forms of music.

Learn more about Hozan Yamamoto
Shakuhachi Playing Guide
Recorded Music

Arrow SheetMusic Menu
Arrow Tai Hei Shakuhachi Homepage
Arrow Main Menu